Events - 2014

Abt SRBI Experts Present at 2014 AAPOR Conference

    Release Date: 5/8/2014

    Abt SRBI survey experts will present nineteen papers and posters at the upcoming conference of the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR), May 14 - 18 in Anaheim, CA.  AAPOR is the leading professional organization in the area of public opinion measurement and methodology.

    Each year, the AAPOR conference attracts about a thousand survey research professionals for several days of intensive exchanges on research, methodology, best practices, standards, and professional ethics. Abt SRBI is a Platinum sponsor of the conference. We will have a booth (# 501) in the Exhibit Hall of the Anaheim Marriot Hotel and Conference Center, the main conference hotel.

    Abt SRBI researchers serve in many AAPOR leadership roles. Courtney Kennedy (VP of Advanced Methods) is the Standards Committee Chair, and a Member of Transparency Initiative Coordinating Committee. Dianne Rucinski (VP of Public Health) is Chair, Student Travel Award Committee; Member, Development Committee; and Member, Bud Roper Fellow Awards Committee. Mark Schulman (President and CRO) is a former President of AAPOR (2002–2003) and currently serves as a Book Award Committee Member and a Sustaining Sponsorship Ad-Hoc Committee Member. Paul Schroeder (VP of Transportation Safety) is a Member of the Council-Member Communications Ad-Hoc Committee.

    Topics to be covered by Abt SRBI researchers include:

    • Responsive design and use of paradata;
    • Improving data quality through real-time access to paradata;
    • Non-response bias and mode effects;
    • Effective use of geoscreening to locate respondents;
    • Adjusting for attrition bias in a longitudinal survey;
    • Computing response rates for web panels recruited through multiple frames;
    • Experiments in email formatting.
    For the full schedule of Abt SRBI presentations, please click here.